Rock of Ages Review Ratings and more

Based on 2 critics – Overal Score: 85 / 100


GameInfo: Rock of Ages is an action-strategy video game, developed by ACE Team. Unlike Ace Team’s first and previous game, Zeno Clash, Rock of Ages is powered by Unreal Engine 3.

The game combines tower defense strategy with a rolling ball mechanic similar to games such as Marble Madness and Super Monkey Ball. The aim of the game is to use a large stone boulder to attack the enemy’s castle at the bottom of the hill, whilst using various defensive structures to defend your own. Players can use a variety of obstacles to defend the path leading up to the castle, such as buildings, dynamite, windmills and animals. Players can also plant money farms in order to raise the funds needed to use certain objects. The player can only add obstacles on green colored landscapes, which turn unusable when obstacles or money farms are planted on top of them. When ready to attack, the player can take control of a boulder and roll it down the hill, avoiding obstacles in order to attack the enemy castle’s gate.
If the player has enough points, he can equip the boulder with power-ups, such as armor or magma, which enhance the boulder’s defensive or offensive capabilities, though they will lose this power up if the boulder falls off the edge. Once the boulder hits the gate, or their boulder breaks after taking too much damage, there is a small recharge period before another boulder can be launched. The player wins if he can break through the castle gates and place his boulder in the centre of the castle.

The game will have a story mode, which is loosely based on the myth of Sisyphus and features various stages and boss levels, and several multiplayer modes. “War” features two players attempting to break each other’s castle gates, whilst “Skee Boulder” requires players to race down a lane hitting targets before landing in skeeball-style board while attempting to land their boulder in the target with the largest score multiplier.

Rock of Ages features a chronology which spans across five time periods: Ancient Greek, Medieval, Renaissance, Rococo and Goya. Each time period features a unique art style during gameplay. The team narrowed their selection to these five periods from a larger pool of 16 time periods which included Neoclassic, Prehistoric, and Impressionism

Critic Score
Destructoid 85 out of 100
GamingExcellence 85 out of 100




Genre: Strategy
Style: Action Strategy
Release Date: August 31, 2011
Developer: Ace Team Software
Publisher: Atlus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *